Author Topic: Peppers - How Add To Pressed Cheeses  (Read 3571 times)

Susie

Peppers - How Add To Pressed Cheeses
« on: August 20, 2012, 06:01:00 PM »
I'm a gardener and I had an abundance of jalapeno and serrano peppers this summer. I decided to dehydrate some and then grind them to use in various recipes and dry rubs. The serrano pepper powder I made is all red serrano peppers and it's a bit spicy but also has a smell that makes me think of pimento. So of course, I'm thinking CHEESE! Is there a clever way to incorporate this into a cheese make? What about using it as part of a rind treatment?

I have zero experience with this type of thing. I mean, I made a standard pepper jack with my fresh peppers. I'm currently aging a farmhouse cheddar with an olive oiled rind and that's my first natural rind. I'd love to do something fun and different with this gorgeous red dust I have! Any ideas?

BobE102330

Re: Peppers - How Add To Pressed Cheeses
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2012, 06:58:49 PM »
Ah, a fellow chilihead!   8)

I've heard of people using cayenne rubbed on the rind as a mold inhibitor.  Not sure if serranos are hot enough to work, but it's worth a shot.  Rub enough of it into the rind to cover.

Maybe infuse a make with shili powder so the pepper and cheese tastes are mixed.  Boil some in a bit of water and add to the milk when you heat it (after the chili water has cooled of course.)

Mix serrano powder in the stuffing of your jalapeno poppers.

Not cheese related but mix some ground pepper with maple syrup. Heat for a while and strain.  Nice hot/sweet accompanyment - good on brie.  Oh, it is cheese related after all.

Cold smoke some of the powder to make chipotle and whatever you call a smoked serrano. 

My peppers are a bit late, but I plan to try the same sort of thing with fatalis and habaneros.  I might do one with bhut jalokias and send it to my serious chilihead son when ripe. 

Susie

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2012, 08:45:57 PM »