Author Topic: PID controller settings?  (Read 9616 times)

klschnepp

PID controller settings?
« on: August 30, 2012, 07:34:17 AM »
I am wondering if anyone would be willing to share their process settings for using a PID for heat?  I have my controller hooked to a bain marie/heating table and am getting a large overshoot (even with a two-step heating process) that simply tuning the factory settings has not helped.   No surprises there given what I have been reading on the topic.  I am by no means an engineer :o --I understand the basic concepts, but not much beyond that.  I have found this intel on settings (iratherfly, thank you):

Programming:
It seems that the following programming instructions would  give you the best results for bot sous vide and cheesemaking. It's as accurate as 0.2 of 1 degree Celsius! (Thanks for coming up with this one, Abe).  Here is the sequence:
 - Press set, enter 0036. Scroll so p is blinking
 - Press set, set the value to 000.2
 - Press set again, scroll to I
 - Press set,  use 1999
 - Press set again, scroll to d
 - Press set, change the value to 0000.
 - Press set, scroll to end.
 - Press set

However, the units of measurement on my system do not seem to correlate (unless I am missing something, which is entirely possible). My unit has P= engineering units, I=seconds and D=seconds.   I am operating in C as well.

If anyone could help me narrow the test range on this, it would really be appreciated.   
« Last Edit: August 30, 2012, 10:10:50 AM by klschnepp »

Wolfy

Re: PID controller settings?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2012, 04:26:51 PM »
Assuming your PID has an 'auto tune' setting, have you tried running that?  From what I understand the machine will then tune itself to your 'system' and the 'system parameters' and you should not need to enter the values manually.