Author Topic: Caerphilly Cheese Making - Receipes & Aging Discussion  (Read 6950 times)

green bean

Caerphilly Cheese Making - Receipes & Aging Discussion
« on: August 24, 2010, 10:10:02 PM »
Hi,
I tasted my first Caerphilly made from goats' milk recently and it was AMAZING!  I want to learn how to make it.  I am new to this and have only made paneer, chevre, fromage blanc, and fresh mozzarella successfully so far.  All with milk from my goats.  Should I take a class for this one or could I figure it out on my own?

I would greatly appreciate any help or advice.

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
Re: Caerphilly Cheese Making - Receipes & Aging Discussion
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2010, 11:22:46 PM »
Peter Dixon has a nice caerphilly recipe on his website here

Oberhasli

« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2010, 04:07:31 PM »
I use Margaret Morris' recipe and it isn't hard.  It isn't as involved as making cheddar.  I have a couple of wheels of Caerphilly aging in the basement.  You will need a hoop and a press for this one.

Bonnie

9mmruger

« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2010, 04:16:16 PM »
I made one in 08 that was fantastic.  I have one made in July 2010 aging in the cave now.  Anxiously waiting.

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2010, 11:38:20 PM »
I say strike out on your own and try one of the recipes mentioned. What could go wrong?

Also, your avatar (picture) is broken. You may have to upload it again.

-Boofer-
Let's ferment something!
Bread, beer, wine, cheese...it's all good.

countrygirl

« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2010, 01:26:47 AM »
Hi,
The first chees I made was a Caerphilly (last weekend). I got the recipe from the website called The Greening of Gavin, which is near me in Malton, Australia. Gavin has a video which show how he makes it. It is ready in three weeks from making.I found it easy to follow

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese