Author Topic: Our Cottage cheese is not absorbing the cream properly  (Read 2966 times)

Water

Our Cottage cheese is not absorbing the cream properly
« on: January 15, 2013, 09:03:47 PM »
Hello,

I run a crew that packages cottage cheese at a dairy in the midwest. I was a cheese cook for 5 years before that. Anyway we are having issues with our curd. It will not absorb the cream properly. It is very soupy even when we have not put all the cream that the calculations call for on the curd. If we leave it in the DCR for 4 or 5 hours it seems to absorb some of the cream better but we are still nowhere near our calculated weight so something is not right. We are also having to cook the curd to a higher temp to get it to firm up. To me the curd is rubbery. What could be causing this?

linuxboy

Re: Our Cottage cheese is not absorbing the cream properly
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2013, 10:22:30 PM »
Are you taking any acidity measurements or standardizing milk?

Water

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2013, 10:52:58 PM »
We are not standardizing the milk. It's winter time here right now though so the skim proteins are through the roof. That's something we might want to look into though. What do we have to do to do that?

We are taking PH's when we cut the cheese and we are also taking PH's when we start the cook process but I It seems like we started having problems when the seasons changed. I know the skim protein has gone up.

The curds look great but we have always had to cook them a little harder to get them through the pumps and into our packaging.

linuxboy

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2013, 11:39:11 PM »
So you are still hitting all the pH markers?