Author Topic: My First English (Traditional) Cheddar  (Read 2755 times)

Likesspace

My First English (Traditional) Cheddar
« on: February 16, 2009, 01:59:15 AM »
Like the title says, this is my first attempt at an English or Traditional Cheddar cheese.
I've made several batches of Stirred Curd and one batch of Farmhouse, but never felt like I was ready to take the next step.
Well this weekend I decided to give it a go.
This was due to finally getting a Ph meter and finding a recipe that gave Ph readings at different points in the recipe. I found this to be a fascinating process and have posted some information in the "Cheese Making Equipment" forum.
I have to say that I am really happy with the outcome of this wheel.
It is made from 3 gallons of 2%, 1 gallon of whole and 24 oz. of whipping cream.
The milk is store bought, as is (obviously) the whipping cream.
One thing that I found quite amazing about this cheese is that it actually pressed together.
At the end of the salting stage of the recipe I had these 1" - 2" square chunks of cheese that were quite cool, if not bordering on cold.
While loading them into the press I told my wife that it would be a miracle if they actually knitted together. Well folks I guess miracles do happen because this is one of the nicest cheese wheel surfaces I've gotten.
Anyway, I don't want to bore everyone with how I've saved the free world by making this cheese.  ;D
Hope you enjoy the photos.

Dave

Offline Cartierusm

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 21
Re: My First English (Traditional) Cheddar
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2009, 02:10:24 AM »
Wow Looks Good Dave, better than mine. I'll take the cheese away I gave you earlier.LOL

chilipepper

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2009, 02:51:23 AM »
Dave, very nice cheese!  How long did it take you roughly start to finish (in the press)?

Offline Cartierusm

• Old Cheese
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2009, 04:43:13 AM »
Dave where did you get that top mesh for draining?

wharris