Author Topic: Hello from Iceland  (Read 5601 times)

sigurdur

Hello from Iceland
« on: October 31, 2012, 05:11:12 PM »
Hi everyone.

I wanted to chime in and say hello. I registered a while back (year and a half now..) and I think it's time to stop lurking and join the community :)

I run an online cheesemaking supply store from my home in Iceland since ~April this year.

I have been making cheese for approximately two years or more now.

*wave*

Sailor Con Queso

Re: Hello from Iceland
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2012, 05:55:10 PM »
Welcome.

Please tell us about Icelandic cheeses.

bbracken677

« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2012, 06:05:21 PM »
Welcome Sigurdur!

Do you have some new recipes to share?

Would love to learn about your cheeses!

sigurdur

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2012, 09:57:18 AM »
Thank you! :)

Cheeses in Iceland has been very boring since the law just recently changed for the better - we are now able to import a lot of cheeses that we were not allowed to. This happened this year.

The most consumed cheese in Iceland is fresh Gouda.
Another popular one for parties and special occasions is Camembert.

For the longest time, we were not allowed to import any cheese made from unpasteurized milk, but in April that changed.
We are now not allowed to produce cheese from unpasteurized milk or buy unpasteurized milk.
I find this really horrible.

Anyway, we have one cheese that is quite unique to our country, and that is Skyr. Skyr is made from skimmed milk with some special Skyr culture and rennet.
You should be able to find Skyr in the US under the brand name "Siggi's" - http://www.skyr.com/
"Siggi" is a character from the children's show Lazy Town.

We currently have one big cheese producer here in Iceland that owns 99% of the market, one small cheese house (most of their profit seems to come from selling shredded mozzarella in bulk to pizza places) and a couple of small home/farm cheese makers.