Author Topic: 3rd Pressed Cheese, Gouda with couple pics  (Read 2968 times)

rolsen99

3rd Pressed Cheese, Gouda with couple pics
« on: December 10, 2012, 01:19:38 AM »
Had another open day, so decided to make another!  Hopefully this post will be better than my last mess  :'(

Time management was better this time, and temps were great!  This is my first time using non-homogenized milk.  It is pasteurized.  It's produced about 10 miles from my house.  I am satisfied, as finding good milk in the Detroit area is proving to be difficult.

Based on Tim Smith Artisan
2 G. Milk
1/4 tsp. meso
1/8 tsp. liquid veggie. rennet
6 C. water at 175 F.
20% brine

4:00 - Milk at 90 F. - Rehydrate culture for 5 mins
4:05 - Stir, Ripen for 10 mins. - Prepare rennet while waiting (lessons learned, better time mgmt.)
4:15 - Stir in rennet for 1 minute., set for 60 minutes.
5:15 - Clean break.....I think  :-\ , cut to 1/2" - Let rest 5 minutes.
5:21 - Draw off 1/3 whey.  Begin adding 175 F. water to achieve temp of 92 F.  Took 5 minutes and about 3.5 cups water.
5:26 - Let set 10 minutes, while stirring.
5:37 - Whey removed to level of curds.  Add 175 water until 100 F. is reached.  Didn't write down how much water.  Maintain for 15 mins stirring.  Let set 30 mins.
6:10 - Strain in colander lined with cheesecloth.

Press 20 mins at 20 pounds, flip and press 20 pounds for 12 hours, flip and press 20 pounds for 10 hours.  Brine at room temperature, 20% salinity, for 2.5 hours, flip and continue to brine for 2.5 hours.

Notes:  Everything went perfect according to recipe, temps and times were really good.  No PH meter, so I am blindly marching according to times.  I am guessing on the brine time, the book seemed low compared to the website recipes and posts.  Time will tell.

I plan to set out to dry briefly, then into the cave while washing with washing solution for 3 weeks.  Then vac-pac and age for ???

Any thoughts or suggestions would be great!

Tobiasrer