Author Topic: Traditional Washing -The hows, whys, whens, whats, and what not (by request)  (Read 46119 times)

tnbquilt

It is a thin schmier, but I was happy to acquire it. I will add more wine and keep going. I appreciate the advice. I'm sorry about your finger! In a world where I work on a computer for a living, the broken finger is really tough.

Alpkäserei

Here are some pics. Thought it might be helpful

« Last Edit: March 28, 2013, 06:16:57 PM by Alpkäserei »

Alpkäserei

The first cheeses are al during their first 10 day washing. One is still in the brine. The last are in the aging cellar, you can see the white dusting on some that are a few months old already.

shotski

WOW that is awesome  :P The wheel you are holding how many gallons did it take to make and how much does it weigh?

Alpkäserei

Each wheel of cheese represents one day's milk. On this Alp, that is amounting to 130 to 150 Liters depending on how the cows are doing. For a cheese cooked hard like Berner Alpkäse, which most of those shown are (the ones in the last picture with red labels on the side are Mutschli) this will yield maybe 15 kg or so of Cheese.

The form is called a Järb and is of adjustable diameter, so that the height remains constant. Here is how they look:

Notice also the block upon which the cheese is placed to be washed. The block is smaller than the diameter of the cheese, making it easy to wash the sides, and also letting excess moisture drip off onto the table.

shotski

Very nice setup. What size vat are you using?

Alpkäserei

This is on the Alp Vorder Rüderigs in the Berner Oberland, not in Indiana. The vat or 'Chäs-Chessi' is 150 liters, about 40 gallons

shotski

This is on the Alp Vorder Rüderigs in the Berner Oberland, not in Indiana.