Author Topic: Vacuum bag puffed up - farmhouse cheddar  (Read 4595 times)

niczus

Vacuum bag puffed up - farmhouse cheddar
« on: January 27, 2013, 05:46:36 AM »
Hi Everyone, I'm a newbie making my first aged cheese! It's a farmhouse cheddar, vacuum sealed and in a wine cooler for 2.5 weeks now.

Over the last few days the bag has lost its vacuum and is a little puffed up. I was planning to re-bag it, but I'm wondering if anyone else has seen this, and if it might mean something unwanted is growing inside.

Tomer1

Re: Vacuum bag puffed up - farmhouse cheddar
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2013, 07:54:36 AM »
It does, its an indication of yeast activity in most cases.  Do check that there is no liquid inside  (whey can sip when you bag too early), this can often promote.
Another possibility is that you underacidify during the cheesemaking process and now a cold resistant strain is eating away at the residual lactose.

cowboycheese

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2013, 03:39:22 AM »
From one newbie to another - FWIW I've let my farmers dry out an extra day or three before bagging. I also give my wheels a bit more rubbed on salt during  the drying phase and lightly brush most if it off before it gets bagged- to help with a bit of rind development and a shot at fighting off whatever is in the air.

I do both wax and bags and I'm thinking the wax might be the best thing for some cheeses that have more internal whey and save my bags for the cut product. My vacuum sealer has an adjustment for the level of suckage. If yours has that too maybe you can tone it down a bit so it isn't so tightly wrapped and looks like a wedge of plastic?

I've offered sacrifices to the landfill gods way more than I want to admit. This forum is priceless!

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2013, 02:20:18 PM »
Hi Everyone, I'm a newbie making my first aged cheese!