Author Topic: Camembert #1 - Bust  (Read 2798 times)

Offline kdttocs

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 4
Camembert #1 - Bust
« on: January 11, 2013, 11:19:13 PM »
Thought I would share my results of my first Camembert. Didn't think it could ripen that quick but since I have little exposure to aging Cams I guess I know what to look for now. :)

The good thing is it seems to taste pretty good! I just wrapped Cam #2 a couple days ago and in the cooler temp. Will watch it closer for sure. May even lower the temp further after seeing this.

linuxboy

Re: Camembert #1 - Bust
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2013, 11:49:27 PM »
either cook/stir the curds more before draining or use more fat in the milk to fix this. Temp will only do so much.

Ross

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2013, 12:12:53 AM »
I'm no expert on Camemberts, as you can see from my post 'pink Camemberts'
I agree with Linuxboy, you could cook / stir a bit longer to remove some extra whey, but I would also suggest a larger container for you Cams, so as to increase the air to cheese ratio. Some of my cams also had a very runny centre, and I have stirred the curd a but longer with each batch and I am hoping that my latest one will be OK. My cave/fridge is set at 12deg C or about 50-52degF, once the PC has covered the cheese I wrap them and store them at around 3-4 degC, about36-38degF. You could also turn your cams daily.

Good luck with your future Cams.

margaretsmall

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2013, 03:56:18 AM »
Gosh, that softened quickly, didn't it. Cheese sauce! I'm impressed by your record sheet, succint but informative.
Margaret

Offline Tiarella

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 81
  • Default personal text
    • Farm Blog
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2013, 12:39:45 PM »