Author Topic: Hello with a big cheesy grin from Cornwall in the south west of England  (Read 3002 times)

Eileen

Hi, my name is Eileen and brand new to cheese making I have today made my second cheddar in a week. It is currently undergoing its first light pressing and my first one will be waxed tonight.

I am a complete beginner and have found this forum to be a superb source of information, thanks for allowing me to join.

I am particularly interested in being a bit creative with cheddar and adding a few other ingredients when I get the hang of the basics. Maybe someone could give advice or point me in the direction of some recipes?

The cheese I make is primarily for our own use and that of friends and family depending on how they come out of course!

mjr522

Re: Hello with a big cheesy grin from Cornwall in the south west of England
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2013, 06:12:09 PM »
Welcome to the forum!  There are lots of people who make cheeses with interesting additions.  I've only ever tried cumin seeds in Gouda and chili's in a monterey jack.  I'm sure someone with more experience will chime in.

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2013, 07:38:28 PM »
Welcome!!  I'm extremely jealous as you can get clotted cream and I can't. LOL  I lived in England for 9 years.  Wife is from London and she has/had friends living in Devon.
Making the World a Safer Place, One Cheese at a Time! My Food Blog and Videos

Sailor Con Queso

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2013, 08:16:27 PM »
So Eileen. Have you ever gone to the cheese rolling in Gloucester? THAT is certainly a creative thing to do with cheddar. ;)

curd nerd

« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2013, 10:13:43 PM »
dear EILEEN,,,,,,,,,,greetings from TASMANIA ,,,,,,,appropo to the first paragraph in your post , no doubt you will read this

when you return from the meeting of cheese makers anonymous [ sic ]