Author Topic: best wrapping for cut cheese  (Read 6865 times)

Little Creek Cheese

best wrapping for cut cheese
« on: January 30, 2013, 04:11:47 AM »
G'day, are there any suggestions on what is the best wrapping to wrap cut cheeses? we are looking at selling a lot of types of cheese, cow / sheep and goat, very hard ( eg parmasians aurochino etc ) hard ( cheddar, gouda etc), blue ( stilton roqueforte etc) soft ( brie chevre etc ) and fresh, do we need different types plastic, paper waxed paper, can anyone suggest decent suppliers in Australia. We are a small factory and shop , but we are looking at being a large shop.

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
Re: best wrapping for cut cheese
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2013, 04:29:09 AM »
Good luck on your search.  I'm new to this whole thing and cheese wrapping paper has become one of the big mysteries for me.  I bought some sheets from a site but there has to be a cheaper, better way.
Making the World a Safer Place, One Cheese at a Time! My Food Blog and Videos

Little Creek Cheese

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2013, 05:22:08 AM »
I have paper backed aluminium looking foil faced microperforated wrap for our camemberts, but that is for manufacturing, I know Agape can supply some, but they cannot ( or do not ) supply knowledge, and can't say which one is best it always comes down to "personal preference". Good luck to you as well Al Lewis are you looking for personal or commercial?

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2013, 05:26:38 AM »
Just personal use but I have a restaurant supply store near me that has all kinds of wrapping papers and foils but none are for cheeses.  I know they wrap blues in thin foil but I have no idea why.  I had one person tell me that cooking parchment worked well but I haven't tried it.
Making the World a Safer Place, One Cheese at a Time! My Food Blog and Videos

Offline Tiarella

• Old Cheese