Author Topic: I'm from Washington State  (Read 1114 times)

DianneAder

I'm from Washington State
« on: January 18, 2013, 03:47:02 PM »
Hello,
My name is Dianne Ader. I have a passion for making cheese. We own a small farm & have dairy cows & milk goats. I milk to make cheese, butter & drink cream  ;D
I have been making cheese for 12 years. I make cheese about once a week. For years I just made a fresh farmers cheese that is pressed & not aged. I joined the Cheesepalooza this early fall to improve my cheese making skills. I also took a cheese work shop this fall in town at a local goat dairy farm.
I have had trouble making cheese that was so dry, you could not cut it very well.
We live in a very DRY area. My cheese workshop I took the lady told us to cut the curds at 1 1/2 inches to 2 inch grid on top & make a couple swipes, instead of cutting 1/2 curds or 1/4 inch curds, to help with the dry atmosphere.

I am having trouble with my cheese cracking out of the press, while the cheese is skinning. I need help with that. I made FarmHouse Cheddar using Mary Karlin's book Artisan Cheese Making at Home. I have made that twice now...the second time I did not heat the curds to 102 deg...I heated them to 98 deg. I also on the second time did not stir for 20 min...I stirred once every 15 min. I put the press in a pot & covered it when I pressed it too. The second cheese I did not brine.

I really want to be able to make Cheddar Cheese.
Here is my cheese blog...you can see what I have done.

http://barovervranch.weebly.com/blog-about-cheese-challenge-with-cheesepalooza.html

Thank you for your help & knowledge.
Dianne

Offline H-K-J

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 145
  • Act as if it were impossible to fail.
    • Cookin with uh dash dogs hair
Re: I'm from Washington State
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2013, 04:05:01 PM »
I like your blog Dianne :D
Just glancing through it
you will find there is a lot of info on the forum that will help your cheese making.