Author Topic: Traditional Cheddar  (Read 1345 times)

Scott8767

Traditional Cheddar
« on: March 12, 2013, 10:22:15 PM »
Hi All - new cheese maker here. I am just getting started following the recipes from Ricki Carroll's Home Cheese Making book. Made a farm house cheddar two weekends ago which went pretty well, but had some trouble getting the curd to set enough to break. Made a traditional cheddar last weekend and had the more trouble with the curd set and break but was able to get it to cut and go through the curd development process. The last step is to heat the water in the sink to 100F and keep it there and turn the curds every 10 minutes which I did. I then put it in the press 10 lbs for 15 minutes, 40 lbs for 12 hours and 50 lbs for 24 hours. The cheese ended up with separation of the curds. Seems like the curds were too dry or too cold. Any thoughts?

tnbquilt

Re: Traditional Cheddar
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2013, 10:36:08 PM »
Press in the pot fixes this. When you go to press the cheese, put something in the bottom of the pot to keep the mold up off of the bottom. I have a little wooden thing that my husband made for me about an inch tall. Then you pour warm water, from 110 to 120 degrees into the bottom of the pot, not any warmer than that, but do not get it high enough to get to the cheese. Put the cheese in the press and wrap the top of the pot with a towel to hold the warmth in. After your first flip, replace the warm water. After that, leave out the water.

This was not my idea, it was Sailor's, and it works great. You are keeping the curds warm enough to knit, but you don't want to keep them warm for too long because they would still be producing lactic acid. The first two presses always work out well for me.

Until I read this on this forum, I had a lot of ugly cheese. Delicious, but ugly.

bbracken677

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2013, 10:39:12 PM »