Author Topic: Just wondering what were the first cheeses you tried making, and looking back...  (Read 2132 times)

meyerandray

Which cheeses would you advise a brand-newbie to start off with?
I am brand brand new at cheesemaking, and so far have made an acid-coagulated fresh cheese, rennet coagulated fresh cheese (here they call them tomini freschi) a pepper jack (which seems to be causing some problems, and has just been unwaxed and is currently re-drying) and a cheddar. 
The two fresh cheeses came out wonderfully, and it was great because we could enjoy them right away, and it felt like an immediate success, although I have to say they are the most exciting cheeses out there, but we all have to start somewhere. 
As far as the cheddar goes, it looks like everything is in order, I am just impatient for it to age!!  I guess I would have liked some quicker results, to know if I am on the right track or not, but I guess patience is a virtue, especially in cheesemaking!!
Please share your first cheese experiences and any hindsight wisdom that may accompany them!!

bbracken677

I was goofy...my first cheese was a triple cream camembert and I cannot rightly call it a success, although I learned a ton during that first make. Since then, applying what I learned, al l my cams have turned out great, although I dont think I will try another triple cream for a while.

I would recommend something a bit simpler such as a Caerphilly (Jeffham has this one down pat..read his threads on Caerphilly for recipe, methodology etc) which will also help you hone your cheddar making skills, since Caerphilly is basically a short aged cheddar.

Gouda would also be a nice early cheese as well as an introduction to washed curd cheeses or a Colby.

meyerandray

Oh thank you!  I am trying a Caerphilly today, found JeffHamm's recipe and the docs he posted.  I'll let you know how it comes out!

High Altitude