Author Topic: Hello from Beavercreek  (Read 1584 times)

HollyG

Hello from Beavercreek
« on: March 25, 2013, 07:23:08 PM »
Hi everyone,  my Name is Holly and I'm from Beavercreek, OR in the Pacific Northwest.
I'm fairly new to cheese making but have made a few attempts - parmesan, colby, mozzarella.  Things were moving along swimmingly (some tasty, some nasty) until this morning.  That's when I found this forum and was hoping that someone might be willing to give me some advise.

1. I was turning and cleaning the "cave" (wine cooler) when I noticed the parmesan I made in December was blowing up like a ballon.  When I cut into it, it released gas. The surface was moldy and damp, but when I cut all of that off, it smells great, buttery and nutty.  Might anyone know what happened and should I try eating some?

2.  Parmesan number two was also slightly swollen and when opened had a big crack running down the center.  Minimal mold and smells like park.

3.  Jack is crumbly and too sharp.  Smells a little like ammonia.

Any suggestions or should I just pitch it all?  Thanks in advance and for all of the lovely information on the forum - it looks fantastic.

Offline Tiarella

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 81
  • Default personal text
    • Farm Blog
Re: Hello from Beavercreek
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2013, 08:21:25 PM »