Author Topic: Mould question  (Read 370 times)

Offline steffb503

  • Catskill Mts, NY State, USA
  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Posts: 498
  • Cheeses: 9
    • M & S Farm
Mould question
« on: April 01, 2013, 05:23:57 AM »
Caprine supply has some cheese moulds that are the size I have been looking foe...6" D and 6" H
But they have no drain holes at all. Will that be an issue if I use them for Stiltons?


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.


Offline Schnecken Slayer

  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Location: Newcastle, Australia
  • Posts: 430
  • Cheeses: 14
  • Making cheese since October 2012
Re: Mould question
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2013, 05:33:46 AM »
Yes, they need t drain!
-Bill
One day I will add something here...

Offline BobE102330

  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • Posts: 403
  • Cheeses: 19
  • chilihead/cheesehead
Re: Mould question
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2013, 06:37:10 AM »
Open bottom?  That's the only place I've seen whey dripping from a Stilton - I use Camembert hoops. I guess holes on the side are less important when its just a gravity drain.

Offline H-K-J

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: South-east ID
  • Posts: 1,301
  • Cheeses: 81
  • By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail.
    • Cookin with uh dash dogs hair
Re: Mould question
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2013, 09:20:38 AM »
A friend of mine made me a 6"x 9" SS mold (approximately) and drill as per my instructions,
now this may not be like the factory molds yet it works just fine, if you like the molds you have found just drill a few holes in the side :-\
act as if it were impossible to fail.