Author Topic: Pressing - So Confused  (Read 1165 times)

DragonAndy

Pressing - So Confused
« on: April 07, 2013, 10:47:14 AM »
I've been pouring over post about how to calculate pressure when using a dutch press and I have to say I'm still very confused. I'm no engineer so some of the terminology is baffling me.

I just got this press as a birthday present, but I don't know how to calculate the pressure being applied. my books all state just straight pounds weight to apply, not psi.

I have attached a picture of my press, if someone could tell me how to calculate and also when using terms like 'pivot point' 'fulcrum' that's sort of thing tell me exactly which part of my press this relates to. in other words I don't know if the pivot point is the bit on the middle or the bit where the lever arm attaches to to the rest of the press. 

« Last Edit: April 07, 2013, 10:54:41 AM by DragonAndy »

Offline H-K-J

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 145
  • Act as if it were impossible to fail.
    • Cookin with uh dash dogs hair
Re: Pressing - So Confused
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2013, 03:41:44 PM »
I don't know if this attachment will work
If it does it is a calculator and explains what to do to get psi
I'm not sure who on the forum came up with this I just know I sure as heck didn't ;)
Never hit a man with glasses, use a baseball bat!
http://cocker-spanial-hair-in-my-food.blogspot.com/

Offline smolt1

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 29
  • Default personal text
    • SturdyPress.com
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2013, 03:53:03 PM »