Author Topic: Greetings from the Pee Dee  (Read 2341 times)

John@PC

Greetings from the Pee Dee
« on: June 21, 2013, 04:31:40 PM »
...  area of South Carolina, that is.  My name is John and I started my cheesemaking journey a little over a year ago and fell in love with the first curds I cut.  My only regret is that I didn't find this forum sooner, but I hope to catch up with your posts over the summer.  I've made over a hundred pounds of cheese of many varieties but still consider myself a newbie because there is so much to learn and cheesemaking is so nuanced (compared to beer making, as any beer is a good beer :)

Being a recently retired engineer I got frustrated with some of the rigor making cheese and started experimenting with different methods and equipment.  Messed up more cheese that way but it helped me to learn.  I've made maybe a third of the cheeses in Mary Karlin's book Artisan Cheesemaking at Home, and just read Gianiclis Caldwell's Mastering Artisan Cheesemaking. 

I don't really have a favorite cheese - love them all and like to keep a variety in the cave.  If my picture attached correctly (do the pics not preview??)  these are some of my recent ones.  Generally make 2 gal batchs but did my first 4 gal. yesterday

Thanks to those of you who set up and maintain this forum.  It is excellent, and I look forward to learning a whole lot more about making cheese.

Offline Spike

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 10
  • Time to turn the cheese
Re: Greetings from the Pee Dee
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2013, 04:42:26 PM »
Welcome to the forum. I am new here as well, and a new cheese maker. The group here is very helpful. I look forward to seeing your new engineering innovation's.
I had the same concerns with the pictures being right on my first post as well. As you have now seen, they came out fine.

John@PC

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2013, 07:00:33 PM »