Author Topic: Quartirolo - Soft Cheese Mystery  (Read 3082 times)

jeads

Quartirolo - Soft Cheese Mystery
« on: May 01, 2013, 02:23:19 AM »
Hey everyone.  I joined a few days ago and am glad i did.  a wealth of resources here.

Just a quick intro.  I have been making "cheese" for a few years now but no real effort or volume.  Then my wife and i moved to Paraguay, South America to volunteer at an Agricultural High School.  I have a background in restaurant and management, she is a graphic designer.  Within a few days I realized that there was a serious problem in the cheese factory as all the cheese tasted the same and they were either rotten or on their way there quickly.  I looked around, saw serious cleanliness problems and brought them up for consideration. Nothing changed. That was 8 months ago and with different staff.  Now management staffing has changed and  they have reviewed my recommendations and started taking my suggestions seriously and have asked me to oversee production a month ago.  We produce 160 liters (40gal) of milk a day and make about half into cheese.  other into caramel and yogurt.  This has given me a ton of milk to play with and i have to say that we have had some early successes.  The non-sucesses quickly get eaten by the 150 students! 

We make colby, Cheddar, greek feta, and two cheeses traditional here.  one of those is the mystery.  It is called quartirolo or Cuartirolo. I cannot tag it in my head or find out how to make it.  It is very creamy, sort of like soft mozz (the dry kind, not water bath mozz) or hard brie ,but not strong at all.  almost has no distinct flavor profile.  mostly the creaminess that is distinctive. here is a description that i have found for it.

Quartirolo