Author Topic: Strange looking Curds  (Read 2706 times)

kcg

Strange looking Curds
« on: June 05, 2013, 04:05:09 PM »
I've been making cheese with raw goat and cow milk for almost 6 months now with good success, but over the last month, the curds have started looking different - they set much quicker, feel firmer, and have this netted, bubbly appearance. They aren't quite floating, but they definitely don't look right and I'm not sure why. It appears to be some sort of contamination because it's happening with both the goat and cow milk, which come from different sources (both are raw). The curds don't smell too different - maybe a little stronger - and they seem to be draining and ripening as normal, just a little firmer. Also, the yield seems to be almost half of what I would expect for the amount of milk I'm using.

Any ideas what's causing this apparent contamination and what I might be able to do about it? It seemed to coincide with me starting to make sourdough bread again, and I'm wondering if that has anything to do with it. If so, how can I effectively nurture my two hobbies side by side??

Thanks for any advice!

linuxboy

Re: Strange looking Curds
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2013, 05:42:06 PM »
nurture my two hobbies side by side??
Sanitize thoroughly and change the air flows so that you have some kind of positive pressure or filtered air to prevent contamination. If you're clean enough, you can do both in the same area.

kcg

« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2013, 05:37:38 PM »