Hi, cheese experts,
I hope y'all can help a cheese fiend with serious food sensitivities. I had to cut out cow's milk several years ago; the lack of cheese very nearly made life not worth living (not kidding; there were already a huge number of things I couldn't eat). Then, after a few years of building up courage to invite agony, I tried some goat's milk cheese to see if it'd also mangle me. Joy!! I can eat goat's milk, sheep, so far any non-bovine-sourced cheese without my middle tying itself in hideous knots.
Finding the exact ingredients in prepared cheese can be a challenge, & I've not yet gotten brave enough to make my own. I have great difficulty getting some manufacturers to respond to queries, which is why I turn to you folks. Altrnately, they respond like the big pharma companies do when asked about med ingredients ("We cannot precisely identify all of the ingredients in our products; some filler ingredients are manufactured elsewhere. If you have a concern, please do not take the medication." Drives me nuts).
So... if the label says "goats milk, cheese cultures," are the cultures even from a milk source? Or is this another way of saying "enzymes"? If cultures are from milk, would they necessarily be from the same type of animal? I realize many manufacturers are going to go the "cheapest whatever we can find, even if it's gnu milk" routine, so it's not always possible to know.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've got a big wedge of pecorino romano shouting "Eat me!" from the fridge, & no feedback from the maker on the "sheep milk, cheese cultures."
Thanks a bunch!