Author Topic: Want induction but not new pans? Try this.  (Read 574 times)

Offline Slemps

  • Medium Cheese
  • ***
  • Location: Jersey - Channel Islands
  • Posts: 34
  • Cheeses: 1
  • Love cheese, smoked food & chillies
    • La Manche Smokehouse
Want induction but not new pans? Try this.
« on: July 11, 2013, 05:48:41 AM »
Hi All,

While investigating an induction hob I came across this little beauty:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Induction-Converter-Diffuser-Andrew-James/dp/B00CAS9FMO/ref=sr_1_13?ie=UTF8&qid=1373537475&sr=8-13&keywords=single+induction+hob

Apparently this means you can use any pan on your induction hob. Anyone tried it? It seems like a fantastic little solution to me!

I was looking to find an induction hob that turns on with a manual switch rather than a touch pad or similar. Then I can use a remote socket, and heat to the temperature I want using my Ninja Block and rules (similar to to PID but much more powerful).

Anyone seen any like that? All the ones I have found turn on digitally somehow.

Sam.


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.


Online Sailor Con Queso

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Posts: 2,525
  • Cheeses: 125
    • Boone Creek Creamery
Re: Want induction but not new pans? Try this.
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2013, 08:09:35 AM »
Using a metal plate between the induction cooker and a non-induction pan means that the plate itself becomes a regular heating element. Since the magnetic field is not flowing thru the actual pan, the heat comes from only the bottom and you lose all the benefits of induction cooking.
A moldy Stilton is a thing of beauty. Yes, you eat the rind. - Ed
www.boonecreekcreamery.com

Offline Slemps

  • Medium Cheese
  • ***
  • Location: Jersey - Channel Islands
  • Posts: 34
  • Cheeses: 1
  • Love cheese, smoked food & chillies
    • La Manche Smokehouse
Re: Want induction but not new pans? Try this.
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2013, 08:31:20 AM »
Oh I see. So the induction method heats up the whole pan?

Online Sailor Con Queso

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Posts: 2,525
  • Cheeses: 125
    • Boone Creek Creamery
Re: Want induction but not new pans? Try this.
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2013, 09:11:49 AM »
With induction, a magnetic field flows thru the entire pan. That's why pans have to be magnetic.
A moldy Stilton is a thing of beauty. Yes, you eat the rind. - Ed
www.boonecreekcreamery.com

Offline Slemps

  • Medium Cheese
  • ***
  • Location: Jersey - Channel Islands
  • Posts: 34
  • Cheeses: 1
  • Love cheese, smoked food & chillies
    • La Manche Smokehouse
Re: Want induction but not new pans? Try this.
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2013, 09:15:00 AM »
Right gotcha.

Induction pan it is then.


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.


Offline jwalker

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Creston BC Canada
  • Posts: 646
  • Cheeses: 66
  • I thought I was indecisive , now I'm not so sure!
Re: Want induction but not new pans? Try this.
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2013, 08:10:16 AM »
Still , it looks very handy for use as a heat diffuser , for heating milk in one of those thin stainless steel stock pots , instead of a double boiler.

No..........I'm not a professional CheeseMaker , but I play one on TV.

Offline Schnecken Slayer

  • Mature Cheese
  • ****
  • Location: Newcastle, Australia
  • Posts: 429
  • Cheeses: 14
  • Making cheese since October 2012
Re: Want induction but not new pans? Try this.
« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2013, 04:11:54 PM »
Still , it looks very handy for use as a heat diffuser , for heating milk in one of those thin stainless steel stock pots , instead of a double boiler.

When making yoghurt I found a saucepan was too hot for making yoghurt and found I could lose some of the heat by placing a large cast iron frypan on the induction stove with the saucepan in it and the temp was perfect.
-Bill
One day I will add something here...