Author Topic: Whey Into Septic System Problem - Other Disposal Methods / Uses?  (Read 13876 times)

Oberhasli

I have been making cheese for about 11 years and when I first started I would put the whey down the drain.  Well, we have a septic system and it ultimately failed.  The fellow who came out to fix it said it was because of the whey I was putting in - too much bacteria.  Has anyone else ever had a problem like this?  I have been dumping my whey outside onto the forest area we have for years now.  It is a pain though especially in the winter and the feet of snow we get here.  But, since I haven't been putting it down the drain - we haven't had a problem with the septic since.  I can go into details about why the system failed- but it is one of those "too much information" type of things if you are not familiar with how septic systems work.  Basically we had no "layers" in our tank - and it all went out as gray water and clogged the leach field.  It recovered - but I haven't ever dumped down the drain again.

Has anyone else experienced this problem?

padams

Re: Whey Into Septic System Problem - Other Disposal Methods / Uses?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 09:45:08 PM »
I use mine for bread instead of water....haven't been brave enough to try any of the other ideas, altho once my garden gets going, it's going on the plants!  I think I might start setting it out for my outside cats, too.

Does anyone know if it can be frozen to use later for things like bread?

Minamyna

« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2010, 09:47:55 PM »
I feed it to my dogs and once I get pigs I will feed it to them. I also feed the the runny yogurt I get though, I probably don't get as much whey as you do.

The dogs are on a meat diet so the whey just adds to that.

Offline Gürkan Yeniçeri

• The one who masters temperature and humidity can make any cheese.
  • Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 36
  • It's not a hobby, it's an addiction, a good one.
    • Artizan Peynirci