Author Topic: Milk Acidification & Curd Forming Temperature - How Maintain?  (Read 6182 times)

Mary Ruth

Milk Acidification & Curd Forming Temperature - How Maintain?
« on: February 26, 2009, 01:56:18 PM »
Forgive me if already covered, searched and I couldn't find answer.  I am a newbie cheesemaker and for the life of me I can't figure this out through Carrol's cheesemaking book or videos online.  If you are making, say, farmhouse cheddar and have added the starter and achieved 90 degrees, you are suppossed to let it rest for a period of time.  What do you guys do....wrap the milk container in towels to try to keep it warm or consistently check the temp to try to keep it as close to the desired temp?  In the second scenario it would be in warm water bath.  I know this  is basic but I just don't know the answer.  I made one batch of cheese and wrapped it in towels and somehow achieved a clean break, I was thrilled....now I will have to be patient for end product.  Have made some real diasters so far but I WONT GIVE UP!!!!!!!!!

homeacremom

Re: Milk Acidification & Curd Forming Temperature - How Maintain?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2009, 02:40:11 PM »
Hi there! If your room temp is 70+*F the warm cultured milk will hold it's temp for quite awhile- at least an 1 hr. In cooler room temps, very small batches the other options you mentioned like wrapping in towels or setting in a 92* bath will work as well.

Cheese Head

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2009, 03:10:00 PM »
Mary Ruth good question, and Home Acre Mum, good response.

To add my 2 cents . . . I normally make 1-3 US Gallon milk batches and the larger volumes do definitely hold their temp better, for smaller volumes, I just check the temp every 15-30 min and if required give it a 20-20 second burst of gas as it's already sitting on our stove. Double boiler - water bath would be better, I'm just too lazy. Some people use sink with hot water as their bath.