Author Topic: Vegetarian rennet question  (Read 353 times)

Offline MrsKK

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Posts: 1,859
  • Cheeses: 61
  • Default personal text
Vegetarian rennet question
« on: July 28, 2013, 02:23:52 PM »
I have been asked about the sources of vegetarian rennet.  Specifically, this is from a person who cannot eat soy or corn products/byproducts in any way, shape, or form without having severe physical effects from it.  She loves cheese and has been looking at a brand of goat's milk cheese (her daughter is sensitive to cow's milk - poor family is really messed up!).  The label says "vegetarian rennet"...from reading on here, I know that most of it is extracted from mold, but what is used to feed that mold?  If it is corn or soy, she can't eat it without problems.

Any input would be appreciated!  Thanks in advance.


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.


Offline linuxboy

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Ukiah, CA
  • Posts: 3,976
  • Cheeses: 197
  • www.wacheese.com
    • Washington Cheese Guild
Re: Vegetarian rennet question
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2013, 03:13:43 PM »
Depends on the manufacturer. Each media formulation is different.

However, the purification process and the fermentation process would leave no trace amounts of soy or corn regardless of the media used. So when you say "soy or corn products/byproducts in any way, shape, or form ", I am not sure it applies in rennet manufacture using common biotechnological art.

I mean, when you manufacture soy peptone, for example, and then use that in the medium to ferment and produce chymosin from rhizomucor miehei, I don't see how that is a byproduct of soy.
Taking an extended leave (until 2015) from the forums to build out my farm and dairy. Please e-mail or PM if you need anything.

Offline MrsKK

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Posts: 1,859
  • Cheeses: 61
  • Default personal text
Re: Vegetarian rennet question
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2013, 02:27:54 PM »
Yeah, she's pretty leery of anything even grown on soy or corn.  I will let her know.  Thanks!

Offline linuxboy

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Ukiah, CA
  • Posts: 3,976
  • Cheeses: 197
  • www.wacheese.com
    • Washington Cheese Guild
Re: Vegetarian rennet question
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2013, 02:29:40 PM »
I can appreciate that. Sometimes, media is reformulated. And if they're buying bulk, it's commoditized, making traceability really hard. There's no way to really know, basically. Still, it's a moot point given the processing methods.
Taking an extended leave (until 2015) from the forums to build out my farm and dairy. Please e-mail or PM if you need anything.

Offline MrsKK

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Posts: 1,859
  • Cheeses: 61
  • Default personal text
Re: Vegetarian rennet question
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2013, 09:23:01 PM »
Well, I copied your reply and sent it off to her.  The decision is now in her hands.  Thanks for your help!


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.