Author Topic: Little crop of Caerphilly  (Read 15631 times)

mjr522

Little crop of Caerphilly
« on: August 17, 2013, 05:36:20 AM »
Tomorrow I'm going to make an 8 1/2 gallon batch of caerphilly.  I'll separate the curds into a number of 12-16 oz molds.  I want to something different with each of them.  I'm sure this is a little too ambitious and that I'll have a mess on my hands, but I'd still like to try.  I'm not sure how many of these I'll have (mainly because I've never used these molds before), so I've got a list of things to try.

1. Plain
2. Neglected
3. Paprika coated
4. Cocoa coated
5. Onion inside
6. Sage inside
7. Garlic inside
8. Blue
9. ...?

Any other suggestions?  Also, when you add powdered stuff (like the sage or onion or garlic powder), do you just add it dry or do you do something else with it?

I hope I can manage all of this.  I'll report tomorrow if it's successful.  If not, I'll be depressed and probably won't report on it until I get over the disappointment.  :)

Offline Tiarella

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 81
  • Default personal text
    • Farm Blog
Re: Little crop of Caerphilly
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2013, 11:00:45 AM »
I hope it works out, Mike!  The coated ones will be easy since that happens after most of the work is done.  The internal additions might be tricky since you'll have been guessing how much curd you need to mix the additions into.  Blue might be a bit tricky since you want to avoid contamination of the whole batch although it sounds like another cool experiment to make all those flavors with PR.

Using dry herbs introduces a lot of molds, etc.  Some other thread expounds upon this.  Anyone else remember where that is?  I remember it talks about treatments of the herbs to sterilize them. 

DO keep us posted!

mjr522

« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2013, 03:04:14 PM »