Author Topic: Worried about cheese smell  (Read 9415 times)

Leaf

Worried about cheese smell
« on: August 23, 2013, 01:27:08 AM »
Hey there!

As you can guess, I'm pretty new to cheese making -- I made ricotta and chèvre several times last year but the lack of good milk where I live dampened my enthusiasm. Last week I stumbled upon a farm's brand that looks like everything I need to start getting serious about cheese making and I find myself worried about one last thing.

(And now I hope I'm in the right section of the forum!)

I live in a student's apartment. My room is fairly large so I could build something looking like a cheese-storage rack in a corner or even a wardrobe without any trouble. But as I said in my header-line, what I'm worried about is the cheese smell creeping everywhere. If I was living alone, it wouldn't really be a problem, but I share a common kitchen (plus the corridor leading to said kitchen) with two other people and our walls are thinner than paper.

So what I would like to know is how pervasive the smell of an ageing cheese is. Is there a way to contain it or should I wait until next year, after I move, to try and make anything more complex than feta? Would it be realistic to build a small storage place in a wardrobe and hope the cheese smell stays contained behind the door? (remember, paper-thin walls)

Thank you!
Leaf

(I supposed Ageing Cheese was the right place to ask about ageing smell, but if it's better in Cave Storage or any other board, please feel free to relocate it.)

mjr522

Re: Worried about cheese smell
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2013, 02:05:25 AM »
If you make cheeses that don't really smell, then smell shouldn't be a problem.  If you want to make stinky cheeses, then, the answer to your question is-it depends.