Author Topic: My first Colby  (Read 2972 times)

GlennK

My first Colby
« on: November 17, 2013, 12:37:41 PM »
Now air drying, this is my first attempt at a Colby.  It's been challenging to find a water bath that I can control, but I think I got it (mostly). I had one problem; During the heating of the curds to 100F it happened in about 10 minutes, instead of the recommended 30.  Do you think that will make a difference?  And if so, how?  What should I watch for?

JeffHamm

Re: My first Colby
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2013, 05:50:23 PM »
If the temperature rises too quickly it can "cook" the outer skin, making the curds retain more moisture/whey rather than slowly shrinking and expelling the whey.  Also, I believe that means there will be some uneven moisture gradients in the pressed cheese.  Keep an eye on it, and it should be ok, but the excess whey could lead to it being acidic and crumbly or a bit sour.  Time will tell.  Looks good though I'm not sure how you got it to stick to the wall! ;)

- Jeff

Offline Al Lewis

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 179
    • Lou's Food & Drink
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2013, 06:28:39 PM »
  Looks good though I'm not sure how you got it to stick to the wall! ;)

- Jeff

I nail all of mine up.  LOL  Good looking cheese!!
Making the World a Safer Place, One Cheese at a Time! My Food Blog and Videos

GlennK

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2013, 08:01:45 PM »
Cheese forum rotates the images for me. ;D

GlennK

« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2013, 01:51:50 AM »
Is there a way to know how much this cheese should weigh right now (1 day old) and what happens to the weight over the next 2-3 months?  I started off with a gallon of whole milk.  If I know the weight, does that reflect the moisture content of the cheese?  What other factors would influence weight at this point? 

JeffHamm

« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2013, 03:09:05 AM »