Author Topic: Caving a combined fridge/freezer  (Read 439 times)

Offline Homecheesejack

  • Medium Cheese
  • ***
  • Location: Southwell, Notts, UK
  • Posts: 25
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Fanatical about improving my cheese skills!
    • HomemadeCheese.org
Caving a combined fridge/freezer
« on: September 05, 2013, 04:20:27 AM »
I have a 10-yr old combined fridge (top) freezer (bottom) sitting in my garage. We use it lots for the freezer, but barely at all for the fridge - so I'm looking to turn that part into a cheese cave.
Does anyone have experience doing this, or is it even possible? I guess my main worry is that by using equipment to override the fridge's regulator, I'm going to damage (ruin) the freezer.
Grateful for any thoughts.
Jack.


Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.


Offline hoeklijn

  • Old Cheese
  • *****
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Posts: 703
  • Cheeses: 43
  • Say cheese!!
Re: Caving a combined fridge/freezer
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2013, 10:09:22 AM »
Will only work when it has 2 compressors IMHO. That way you have the whole system divided into two parts, from which you can use the fridge part as a cave.
But then you must find a way to control the temperature on the fridge. Normally that is done by an external thermostate in which you plugin the power for the fridge: Temperature ok, no power, temperature too high: power is on and the fridge will cool...
- Herman -

Offline Homecheesejack

  • Medium Cheese
  • ***
  • Location: Southwell, Notts, UK
  • Posts: 25
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Fanatical about improving my cheese skills!
    • HomemadeCheese.org
Re: Caving a combined fridge/freezer
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2013, 12:20:47 PM »
Thanks Herman, I am investigating whether I have one or two compressors and will take it from there.

Really grateful for the feedback,

Jack

Offline Fabiolo

  • Medium Cheese
  • ***
  • Location: Burlington, NC
  • Posts: 23
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
Re: Caving a combined fridge/freezer
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2013, 07:32:30 AM »
I use a Love temperature switch model TSS2 to control the temperature. it works great. Your problem will be that you have to connect the main (and only) plug to the Love switch and the probe will make the whole unit stop when it reach the temp you had set.