Author Topic: Hi from northwestern Nebraska. USA  (Read 1433 times)

Pete S

Hi from northwestern Nebraska. USA
« on: September 17, 2013, 04:16:38 PM »
  I am Pete and this is my first post. I really enjoy this form and have spent a lot of time searching and reading.  I have been making cheese for about 3 months now. (Not counting cottage cheese and pressed cheese made with the separated milk, 40 years ago when we had milk cows and sold the cream).       
     My  question is about my Stilton? It has the taste of the Roquefort but no bluing. I added PR  only.       
It is in a container with a fog on the inside of the lid (90+RH) at55 to 60 D . It is 5 weeks old.
    The other 3 blues that I have made blued up in a week .
     I used the recipe in Tim Smith's book Making Artisan Cheese

Pete

Offline H-K-J

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 145
  • Act as if it were impossible to fail.
    • Cookin with uh dash dogs hair
Re: Hi from northwestern Nebraska. USA
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 06:17:13 PM »
Hi Pete welcome to the forum,
I don't think anything is wrong with your Stilton, I had one that I made with a slurry from a store bought Stilton and it never really blued up
It still has the Roquefort flavor but very little in the blue department, to me anyway, the wife say's she likes it as well as my other blues and that I should just enjoy and quit bein so damn picky  :-X
Your temps and R/H are right on, I have waited up to 11 weeks to open one (that one bit back :P) the wife said it was a little strong but alas it was gone in a very short time  ^-^
Have fun and be sure to share your cheesy pix's (some people on the forum get persnickety if yuh don't ;))
Never hit a man with glasses, use a baseball bat!
http://cocker-spanial-hair-in-my-food.blogspot.com/

Pete S

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2013, 06:34:09 PM »
 Thanks for the welcome
 I made this cheese before I found this forum,so I have no pictures.