Author Topic: Lancashire did not knit well  (Read 2080 times)

janij

Lancashire did not knit well
« on: April 14, 2014, 01:25:55 AM »
Hi,
This is my first time making Lancashire.  MrsKK recommended it.  I will describe the make, but my question is that it did not knit well.  Any one have any ideas what I did wrong?  Or what could have been done to get it to knit better?

Heat 3 1/2 ish gal raw milk to 88 in double boiler.  Add 1/4 t M starter.  Let sit 45 min.
Add 1/2 t rennet diluted in 1/4 c water.  Let sit 50 min.  Did not do a floc test.  But the curd was nice and had a clean break at cutting time.
Cut curds into 3/8 in cubes.  let rest 5 min.
Stir curds for 10 min and cut any large pieces.
Let settle 5 min.  Drained most of the whey.  Waited 5 more min, drained more then got the colander out finally.  Drained and put back in the pot.  Pressed together as best as I could.  Let sit 15 min.
Flip.  It kind of broke but oh well, pressed it together.  Let sit 15 more min.
Cut the curd in half and stack.  Let sit 15 min.
Cut curd into 1 x1/2" curds.  Salted with 2 T Kosher salt and mixed well.
Mold curds.  I put the top and follower on but did not press.  Let sit overnight.
Flipped cheese in press in the am.  Was not really well knit at this time.  Pressed at 25# pressure for about 8 hrs. 
This is what it looked like.  Ideas?

Spoons

Re: Lancashire did not knit well
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2014, 02:50:21 AM »
Milled and salted curds need some HEAVY pressing. More than any other type of cheese. Ambient temperature is also a factor. If it's too cold, you won't get a good knit. Some home cheese makers "press in the pot". Look it up, it's well documented here on these boards. That might help you out.

JeffHamm

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2014, 03:59:00 AM »
Hi janij,