Author Topic: Camembert issue - need some advice  (Read 2103 times)

jackbox

Camembert issue - need some advice
« on: October 29, 2013, 08:25:58 AM »
This is my first attempt at making Camembert. It has been nine days since it was put into the refrigerator for aging. I turned the cheese today and there is a spot that concerns me. I think it has a slight pink tint to it. Photos are attached to this post and the spot is circled in two of them. It seems more pink by eye than in the photos. Should I cut this out or leave as is? I think white mold is beginning to develop but I am not certain. The cheese has been kept an average of about 5 degrees Celsius (41 degrees F). Any constructive advice anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Boofer

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 344
  • Contemplating cheese
Re: Camembert issue - need some advice
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2013, 01:34:36 PM »
I haven't made any Cams yet, but while we're waiting for those folks to chime in, I'll offer my meager opinion. ::)

At this point I wouldn't worry about that pink spot. The PC should overtake it. Your ripening temp of 5C/41F is pretty low. Currently I've got my Saint Paulins (with PLA wash) ripening at ~11C/52F. Actually, everything in my caves is ripened between 9C/48F-13C/55F.

-Boofer-
Let's ferment something!
Bread, beer, wine, cheese...it's all good.

jackbox

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2013, 03:00:06 PM »
I haven't made any Cams yet, but while we're waiting for those folks to chime in, I'll offer my meager opinion. ::)

At this point I wouldn't worry about that pink spot. The PC should overtake it. Your ripening temp of 5C/41F is pretty low. Currently I've got my Saint Paulins (with PLA wash) ripening at ~11C/52F. Actually, everything in my caves is ripened between 9C/48F-13C/55F.

-Boofer-