Author Topic: Hi from New Zealand  (Read 991 times)

Dairymaid

Hi from New Zealand
« on: November 21, 2013, 02:35:40 AM »
Hi there.  I am a novice (2 years) cheesemaker in NZ (Waiheke Island), living in an eco-village where a group of us co-own 2 Jersey cows.  We are in our second year of milking them, (2nd lactation for one of the cows, the other about to be dried off to go to the bull at the next door farm), so we get between 5 and 10 litres of milk daily.  Each family’s turn to milk only comes round every 4 or 5 days so we are not overwhelmed with milk but we get a chance to make plenty of cheese.

After many attempts at a variety of cheeses (feta, stilton, cheddar, wensleydale, brie, gouda, edam, cambozola, halloumi, ricotta etc.) I feel I have got the techniques pretty much under my belt, but I am still mystified by the science/chemistry, so when something goes wrong, which it does quite often, and the cheese ends up feeding the chooks, I read back through my diary notes of how that cheese was made but I am in the dark as to what I might have done wrong at what stage. 

I really need more information and I am hoping some of you experienced cheese makers can either tell me what I need to know or point me to the place on this web site where I will find it.  This is a huge site for a newcomer to navigate and packed with information – very inspiring.