Author Topic: My first cheese.. a worrying looking Stilton?  (Read 7747 times)

rumtom

My first cheese.. a worrying looking Stilton?
« on: December 20, 2013, 07:18:16 PM »
This is my first attempt at Stilton (and cheese of any sort). I've learnt a lot already - unfortunately I learnt most of it after starting this one!

I would appreciate some advice on how it looks as if it's going off in the wrong direction I'd like to know before it's too late!

This one's about 3 weeks old and went blue, then greeny blue. Is this normal? The humidity is around 80-85%, temperate at 7 degrees Celsius.

(There is also a younger Stilton in there)

It's been interesting reading everyone's Stilton stories and I've become slightly obsessed already. Thanks in advance for any advice!

Tom

jwalker

Re: My first cheese.. a worrying looking Stilton?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2013, 07:47:30 PM »
It looks fine , at some point it may get some orange and brown color to it as well , it's all good.

Black mold is not good , but with the amount of blue you currently have , it should keep out most unwanted molds.

How long do you plan on aging it?

Keep us posted.

rumtom

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2013, 08:27:53 PM »
That's reassuring. I was hoping it was alright but even after looking all through the forum didn't see any quite the same - although I don't think I've seen two the same anywhere!

I was going to age it for 3 months but will just see how it goes. I like strong Stilton but not sure how long I'll be able to wait before eating it.

Thanks for the reply.

Neil

« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2013, 10:47:18 PM »
That one looks like mine at around 2 weeks.  Maybe because I'm keeping the humidity around 90-98% and temp 48-55F.  Ours appear to be on a similar schedule so it will be interesting to follow.

rumtom

« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2013, 07:02:51 PM »