Author Topic: Created an extremely weak brine for tomme, will I have issues during aging?  (Read 6623 times)

seasofcheese

Re: Created an extremely weak brine for tomme, will I have issues during aging?
« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2014, 08:21:50 PM »
Do I need to remove the blue? what kind of flavour will it add? If it doesn't need removed, I will just do a wash with a weak brine with some geo/carpo mixed in to give them a boost.

Matthewcraig

« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2014, 07:14:29 AM »
Well unless you want it to have a blue flavour you do have to remove it, not removing it will add a massive "blue flavour and yes that should work

jwalker

« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2014, 01:23:19 PM »
Do I need to remove the blue? what kind of flavour will it add? If it doesn't need removed, I will just do a wash with a weak brine with some geo/carpo mixed in to give them a boost.

I'm no expert here , but just from personal experience , not all blue molds are good , some impart a terrible taste to cheese , so don't always assume because it's blue , that it's PR.

When I have spotty molds like that on any of my cheeses , I wash them clean , and try to get a consistent coverage of the mold I was going for , Geo , PC , PR , etc.

I've always found spotty mold growth to be dicey , I like to see a nice even coating of the desired mold(s) , of course if you plan on trimming the rind before eating , it may not be that important , I like most of my rinds edible though.

Just my experience , and the way I like my cheeses.

elkato

« Reply #18 on: February 07, 2014, 02:50:44 PM »
That is correct, the rind in a semi-hard cheese will only impair a certain flavour "if you eat the rind" your cheese will be fine even if you let a wild mix of molds to grow unsupervised and then just brush it once in a while, if it was a bloomy rind, or a washed rind cheese then you really need to see what is growing because the molds will reach inside.

elkato