Author Topic: First attempt at cheese using rennet (mozz), milk didn't curdle  (Read 6247 times)

megyams

First attempt at cheese using rennet (mozz), milk didn't curdle
« on: February 18, 2014, 03:15:12 PM »
Utter total complete newbie (advance apologies) -

Trying to make this recipe today:

1 gallon whole milk
1 1/8 teaspoon citric acid
1/4 tablet rennet, crushed
1/4 cup warm water
EQUIPMENT: cheesecloth; kitchen string
Heat milk and citric acid to 88°F in a 7- to 8-qt heavy pot over low heat, stirring occasionally, then maintain a temperature of 88 to 91°F on an instant-read thermometer, returning to and removing from heat as necessary, for 1 hour. (Mixture will begin to curdle.)
Dissolve rennet in warm water, then stir into milk mixture. Let stand, uncovered, maintaining 88 to 91°F, until the consistency of soft pudding, 15 to 20 minutes.
Using a long knife, make cuts across stiffened milk mixture at 1/2-inch intervals, reaching down to bottom of pot, then make similar cuts in stiffened milk mixture to form a crosshatch pattern (small squares) on top. Let stand, undisturbed, 5 minutes. Keeping temperature between 88 and 91°F (reheat when necessary over very low heat), gently stir curds every 10 minutes for 30 minutes, then let curds stand, uncovered and undisturbed, maintaining temperature, 30 minutes more.

Problem: never got curdled milk, or curds. REALLY hate to waste this milk. Any tips to salvage it, either as cheese or otherwise?

If it matters (I assume it may), I used organic, low-heat pasteurized organic milk.

Many thanks to anyone who takes the time to read and reply.

Megan

Digitalsmgital

Re: First attempt at cheese using rennet (mozz), milk didn't curdle
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2014, 03:44:50 PM »
Hi Megan, welcome to the forum!

Tell us more about the tablet of rennet, is it Junket rennet or cheese rennet?

megyams

« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2014, 03:52:20 PM »