Author Topic: Ash and flavor, Humboldt Fog  (Read 1824 times)

RouxBdoo

Ash and flavor, Humboldt Fog
« on: February 23, 2014, 06:49:14 AM »
Snacking on one of my favorites Humboldt Fog.  I am a newbie to this board and to cheese in a way.  I have read in many sources that the ash was used not for flavor but for effect.  I love the look of H Fog but I am curious, I taste what seems to be a blue mold culture (roqueforti), I might be wrong but I still pick up on it.  When I trim the rind it is less pronounced.

This won't change my love of Humboldt Fog, I am just wondering if the ash is purely for looks as some say, or if it affects the cheese.  Also are my taste buds off completely?  Does HF remind anyone else of a blue culture, or is it my imagination.  Where does it derive this flavor from if that is the case.

I am loving this board and learning more about cheese and cheese making.  Did I mention I loved cheese???

Tim

Marta

Re: Ash and flavor, Humboldt Fog
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2014, 05:36:59 PM »
As I understand it, the ash affects the ph levels in ways that someone more experienced than I am
should explain.

In any case, that HF is a beauty!  Nice balance between the gooey outer stuff and the chalky inner stuff. 

Offline Gürkan Yeniçeri

• The one who masters temperature and humidity can make any cheese.
  • Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 36
  • It's not a hobby, it's an addiction, a good one.
    • Artizan Peynirci
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2014, 09:20:02 PM »
Ash normally regulates the skin to prevent slip-skin problems in P. or G. Candidum ripened cheeses but with humboldt fog, it protects the previous day's curd from insects  :D

It is made with left over curd which wasn't enough for a cheese and the rest added the next day. Through out the night while the bottom curd is waiting, it is covered with ash and water slurry to protect from flies and insects.

John@PC

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2014, 12:17:04 AM »