Author Topic: Holding mozz curds to stretch later  (Read 1037 times)

janij

Holding mozz curds to stretch later
« on: March 27, 2014, 05:47:19 PM »
Hi all,
I have been making cheese for a couple years now.  I have tried the 30 min mozz and just don't like it.  I want to try the reg mozz recipe but I have a question.  Is is possible to hold the curds over night in the fridge once they are at the right acidity and then stretch them the next day?  I saw this show on pizza shops and a guy just used the mozz curd on his pizza instead of stretching it first.  It got me to pondering.  Ideas?

Spoons

Re: Holding mozz curds to stretch later
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2014, 07:19:12 PM »
Yes it's possible. It's even common practice. You need to put it real quick in the refrigerator though. The cold will slow down the acidification. So as long as the curd mass doesn't reach much lower than 5.3-5.2 in the fridge, you will be ok. I have made mozz many times, and my favorite method was "cheddarring" the curd mass as that part of the process only takes about 30 minutes.

janij

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2014, 11:09:13 PM »
Thank you Spoons!  I will try it.  Can you expand on what you mean by cheddaring it?  I have done the stack and flip em deal, but you said 30 min.  How does this change the make?  Sorry, now you have me more curious.

MrsKK

« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2014, 02:55:29 PM »
I just posted my recipe for Easy Peasy Pizza Cheese...it is a cultured mozzarella that can be stretched for fresh use or just grated/crumbled for cooking purposes.  I drain mine overnight at room temperature, cut the curd into chunks, put in an ice cream pail, and then into the fridge until I am going to stretch it or use/freeze the extras.

Spoons

« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2014, 03:22:36 PM »