Author Topic: Cannot make mozzarlla?  (Read 212 times)

Offline kelism

• New Cheese
  • Cheeses: 0
  • Default personal text
Cannot make mozzarlla?
« on: April 03, 2014, 08:07:59 PM »
I'm new to cheese.  I've tried mozzarella twice and both failed. 

I followed the recipe below with 1 gallon of milk, 1.5 tsp citric acid, and rennet. 

Both times I had trouble getting a curd to form.  I ended up straining it in the fridge overnight the first time to try to salvage it and I ended up with something tasteless and somewhat similar in texture to a cream cheese.  The second time I just could not get a firm curd.  It would look like it was setting up OK, but as soon as I touched it you could see that it was not even close to firm.  I ended up giving up and dumping it. 

I used a different milk and more rennet the second time, because I had used the amount indicated on he bottle, which was less than the recipe called for.

I also tried cheddar.  It took about twice as long to get a clean break as it said it should, but other than that, so far it looks OK (well, it started to crack, I'm working on the humidity). 

What is likely the problem?  This is brand new rennet, but could that be the problem?

http://www.cheesemaking.com/howtomakemozzarellacheese.html

Guests, join the CheeseForum.org community to remove this ad.

Offline MrsKK

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 61
  • Default personal text
Re: Cannot make mozzarlla?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2014, 10:08:41 PM »
First of all, Welcome!

Secondly, you have chosen two of the toughest cheeses for starting out, so don't beat yourself up over it.

What kind of milk are you using? I'm assuming store bought pasturized/homogenized milk.  Many brands are pretty beat up in the processing, making it tough to get a decent curd set.  One thing you can do to improve your curd is to add calcium chloride to help replace some of the calcium lost in the p/h process.