Author Topic: Photos of our cheese  (Read 3994 times)

Offline sprocket

• Medium Cheese
  • Cheeses: 4
  • Default personal text
Photos of our cheese
« on: November 13, 2014, 04:16:53 AM »
Hello all -

Still a relative newbie here, but wanted to share some photos of some of the cheeses my wife and I have made over the last several months!

Several years ago, we left city life to start a small goat dairy and after a long, uphill process to get our cheese facility licensed, we received final approval this past June. 

Here's an album of some of the cheeses we're currently selling or will be selling in the next several months:

http://imgur.com/a/psbZZ

A brief description of each one:

• Photos 1 & 4 are actually the same variety of cheese, but from different batches.  They were a bit of an accident, and weren't anything like what we were going for, but turned out lovely nonetheless.  They're both hard, crumbly, raw milk cheeses, with a natural rind and a layer of ash through the center.
  • Photo 2 is our version of Manchego, save for being made with goat's milk.  We opted for a natural rind on these ones instead of oiling with olive oil.  We brush the rinds every couple days or so to knock back the molds.
  • Photo 3 is a small 1kg round that we've coated with rosemary, savoury, and crushed juniper berries, before allowing the natural rind to grow over the herbs.  These ones are still about a month away from being ready for sale.
  • Photo 5 is our Tomme variety - the original ones (seen in the background as two stacked on top of one another) didn't seem to want to develop that natural white rind, despite our best efforts.  At some point in August, however, the rinds started coming out exactly as we'd intended, as seen in the wheel leaning against the other two.

Feedback and tips for improvement is very welcome; we're just at the beginning of our journey and want to improve at our craft!

Offline Andrew Marshallsay

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 115