Author Topic: Mozz Cheese from Yogurt? Is it possible? From Belize  (Read 4147 times)

derbra1513

Mozz Cheese from Yogurt? Is it possible? From Belize
« on: June 19, 2014, 08:25:37 PM »
Hello everyone, I am new to the cheese making art and am trying my best to get a mozzarella cheese, my first attempt failed and I am not sure why, it looks like ricotta chess (seems like a common problem). Anycase I am going to try again today however I have a very limited supply of products at my disposal as I am making this cheese from Belize.

First milk here is very hard to come buy as there is only one company that pretty much supplies the country with fresh milk however it is incredibly expensive about $8-$10 a gallon. So for the past year I have been making yogurt using NIDO (a powdered milk) which has always been successful and quite good. The starter I used to make my yogurt is chabani brand which has these cultures (S. Thermophilus, L. Bulgaricus, L. Acidophilus, Bifidus and L. Casei) so my yogurt hopefully has these cultures in it as well.

My question is, can I make mozzarella using these cultures as a starter with powdered milk? If the powdered milk can form yogurt would it be able to make mozzarella?

Oh and BTW I was able to get my hands on liquid Rennet.

elkato

Re: Mozz Cheese from Yogurt? Is it possible? From Belize
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2014, 10:02:00 PM »
Hello Derbra
In Mexico the Oaxaca cheese witch is a copy of mozzarella, is made without starter, only part of the raw milk is left out overnight to acidify and then mixed with the rest of the milk and the rennet added.
with powder milk you are going to need some type of starter, and the one for yogurt that you have will have to do,  but since is a thermo you can heat the curds above 40c to make it more active, the whole point with mozzarella is to drain at a PH of 6.00 and stretch at 5.2- 5.3 this will be tricky without a PH meter but not impossible.