Author Topic: Wensleydale #1 (and hello)  (Read 4089 times)

Stu

Wensleydale #1 (and hello)
« on: June 22, 2014, 06:30:09 PM »
Good afternoon! I'm rather new here. Been lurking for a while, but I figured I should finally come out of the shadows now that I have something (hopefully) worth posting. I'm extremely new to cheese making, but so far it's been fun.

That said, I've attempted my first cheese. Being inspired by several things (Wallace & Gromit, user JeffHamm's recent post, and some delicious stuff we found at the grocery store), I decided to try Wensleydale.

I more or less followed a combination of JeffHamm's recipe and the one found in the 200 Homemade Cheeses book. I adjusted it to use only 2 gallons of milk though. A local grocery store carries some of the NEC cultures, so I was able to use their Meso and Buttermilk direct set cultures.

I've just waxed it and put it in my new used fridge with my new homebrewed stc1000 box. I'm planning on taking a wedge out in a couple weeks to see how it's doing. If it's good, perhaps we'll finish it off. If not, I'll re-wax and try it again in a few more.

How about some pictures?
http://imgur.com/a/Bs1VU

Offline smolt1

• Mature Cheese
  • Cheeses: 29
  • Default personal text
    • SturdyPress.com
Re: Wensleydale #1 (and hello)
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2014, 10:21:55 PM »
Looks like a good start. I like the Chinese style double boiler.

Stu

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2014, 02:44:07 AM »
I like the Chinese style double boiler.

We do wok we can? Ok, that was terrible. It was really the only pot wide enough to fit the $2 thrift store special I put my wax in. I may reevaluate my situation if it becomes a problem (my wok was seasoned, and steaming/smoking everywhere).

Denise

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2014, 06:28:55 AM »
A very respectable first attempt, and a fine-looking result. A cheese to you! :)

JeffHamm

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2014, 07:37:09 AM »
Hi,