Author Topic: Bitter Brie  (Read 3852 times)

Brie 4 me

Bitter Brie
« on: July 07, 2014, 12:04:18 PM »
Hi there,
I'm a COMPLETE novice. I'm good at yoghurt and OK at mozzarella so I've decided to try to make some brie as I love eating it  :) My first attempt ( and only so far) has been a failure with the  cheese being VERY bitter. 
I've followed the 'recipe ' on cheesemaking .com and also using Rikki Carrolls book. I used supermarket milk as new as on the shelf as I have no access to fresh (it's pastuerised and homogenised). I used CaCl2 as per the recipe as it was not 'fresh milk' and rennet and culture as per the "back of the packet" corrected for the liters of milk I used (4L).
I think I understand from searching the forum that the 2 most likely reasons for the bitterness are :-
1. too wet curd
2. aging in plastic box not correct temp.
I didn't cut the curd as the recipe said not too and it said the leave the drained unmoulded cheese at approx 68-74F (20-23c) for "a day or 2 till there is no free moisture on the surface". I didn't leave it 2 days but it was no longer leaking any whey at all.
I put it in a plastic 'cake box', the same brand (Decor) that is sold by a cheese supply place here in Aus. I also drilled some  holes in the rack. I thought my 'fruit' fridge (small bar fridge for storing all the xs fruit I grow) would be too cold @ 4-5C so I put it in the coldest place in the house here in winter - the built in cupboard which is about 12-14C.
My question is what is more likely to cause the bitterness?
1. Should I cut the curd?
2. Leave the cheese out for a few days? My kitchen is not as warm as 20C in the  winter!
3.Should I age at a colder temp in the fridge?
Thanks in advance for any help!
« Last Edit: July 07, 2014, 12:34:41 PM by Brie 4 me »

Alison

Re: Bitter Brie
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2014, 12:54:17 PM »
Hi Brie 4 me