Author Topic: My First Gouda  (Read 4814 times)

Offline OzzieCheese

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 171
  • Sun-Grass-Cow-Milk-Cheese-Happiness
My First Gouda
« on: July 12, 2014, 11:50:39 PM »
My first Gouda.  This will be interesting as the recipe here with be a little of a collaboration of three recipes.  Several things I have noticed is the variance of recipes in both pressing times, Ph readings (which I have never used before and pressing times.  One detail from many commenters is that the finished cheese is better where a culture mix of a standard acidifier and in this case Saccos’ MO36R, with its mix and a little Floria Danica. So here is my interpretation of a Gouda .  Another bit of information that people might find confusing is my measures of culture.  I source my cultures from Green Living Australia (GLA) who distribute the Sacco range of cultures and when I say one dose – I mean the miniscule amount of this culture that is sufficient to acidify 10 litres of milk. I also use their mini spoon measures.  So for my culture for 10 litres of milk 1 dose = 1/64th teaspoon.  If I used the measures mentioned in the recipes I’d be using 80 litres of milk – wahoo !

10 Litres full cream – un-homogenised  Maleny Milk – I Love this stuff bit more expensive but worth every cent.
½ Dose of MO36R (same as MM100) – ½ a 1/64th Drop measure
½ Dose Flora Danica – as above
1/8th tsp(Dash) CaCl2
3 ½ mls GLA vege rennet 190 ICU – this flocs in 9-10 minutes.  I’ll be using the 3 time multiplier today.
Brine of 1 Kg Salt to 5 litres of water
Un-Chlorinated water heated to 80OC

The morning is cool so keeping the curds at the correct temperature will be paramount today.

Make notes, pictures and other comments throughout the day.
Usually if one person asks a question then 10 are waiting for the answer - Please ask !

Offline Andrew Marshallsay

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 115
  • Default personal text
Re: My First Gouda
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2014, 02:54:48 AM »
Good luck!
- Andrew