Author Topic: Cheese fridge thermostat  (Read 2252 times)

Atari Boy

Cheese fridge thermostat
« on: August 06, 2014, 06:17:32 AM »
Please be gently, I'm new to cheese making and this forum.

I want to make a cheese maturing fridge, but I am have a problems locating the correct thermostat to increase the fridges temperature.

I have watched this video and plan on doing the same (unless you suggest differently):

Could someone post a link to the correct thermostat to get, I'm based in the UK.

Many thanks in advance.

Offline Andrew Marshallsay

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 115
  • Default personal text
Re: Cheese fridge thermostat
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2014, 08:43:21 AM »
I think there are a few different ways that you can go about this.
I went for the budget version - a cheap thermostat from China via ebay. I plug it into the power socket and than plug the fridge into the thermostat. A temperature sensor goes in past the door seal.
I'ts not really accurate. I have it set on 15C to get a temperature of about 13C and there is a +/-1C variation on top of this. Then again, for around $20 Aust. what can you expect. These thermostats, by the way, are aimed at reptile fanciers for their terrariums.
Others may have more elegant and accurate solutions.
- Andrew

fabian

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2014, 11:17:48 AM »
I used the TS2010 of Love (that;s the brand) I don;t know where are you located but if you click the link it will show you different configurations of voltage and temperature. They are very accurate and easy to use. This device just overwrite the fridge thermostat so you control the temperature.
Good luck!
http://www.dwyer-inst.com/division/love/Product/Temperature/Switches/DigitalPanelMount/SeriesTS2
« Last Edit: August 06, 2014, 11:45:09 AM by Fabiolo »

Offline Andrew Marshallsay

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 115
  • Default personal text
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2014, 11:34:47 AM »