Author Topic: Help with my Feta, Curd problems  (Read 2404 times)

RouxBdoo

Help with my Feta, Curd problems
« on: August 13, 2014, 05:39:31 AM »
OK guys, I am a newbie and some batches have been good but it takes too long to drain.  I am inconsistent with my Feta, here is the recipe I tried last time.  I had been making one gallon batches but still had curd problems.  I have to let it hang longer or the curd mass splits and crumbles.  Please check my amounts/levels of rennet, lipase, culture, ca-cl, etc.  The cheese tastes good but I have to drain it for a day and a half and then last time it still fell apart. 

1 3/4 gallons cow's milk (all my stainless steel pot will hold)
1/2 tsp lipase in 1/4 cup water
1/4 tsp ca cl in 1/4 cup water (Ball brand Pickle Crisp)
Bring up to 86°
1/4 cup buttermilk (I used buttermilk with the culture since I was afraid the packet wouldn't be enough for over one gallon of milk)
1 dose packet mesophilic culture (New Engand Cheesemaker DS C101)
Wait 1 hour
1/4 tsp plus 5 drops rennet in 1/4 cup water (New Engand Cheesemaker, liquid, animal)
Wait 1 hour
Cut curd
wait 5 mins
stir lightly for 20 mins
etc.

The curd is weak, am I using enough rennet, some recipes seem to go from one extreme to another.  I just want a consistent recipe.  I have bought a better thermometer, this new one is digital, might've had temp problems.  Also using Walmart milk, not supposed to be ultra pasteurized.  Am changing milk to local milk brand assures me it isn't UP.  I also use flour sack cloths to drain.  Too heavy?  I've heard them recommended.

I know this is lengthy but I am trying to get all info in there.  Thanks in advance.  I really want to have a consistent, tasty cheese before I venture into it any more.  I marvel at the knowledge on this board.

RouxBDoo

JeffHamm

Re: Help with my Feta, Curd problems
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2014, 08:06:50 AM »
Hi RouxBDoo,