Author Topic: Hello from St. Louis MO  (Read 2034 times)

JaneinStLouis

Hello from St. Louis MO
« on: March 28, 2009, 01:13:16 AM »
I'm pretty new to cheese making. I've been making it for 2 months and have made farmhouse cheddar about 6 of them and a few other very simple ones.

OK I might as well post my question also. I have a heck of time cutting them into the 1" squares. What is the secret? I just use a regular sharp knife. It's very long and does go to the bottom of the pan.

I have a few others I'm wanting to try next. I do enjoy it goes well with the bread I make and so on.

Thank you for letting me go on.

Jane in St. Louis

Worlock

Re: Hello from St. Louis MO
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2009, 01:17:49 AM »
Hi Jane!

Welcome to the boards.

To answer your question, I have found that it takes patience.  I want to zip zip zip zip but I really have to hold myself back and cut slow.  Takes me alot longer to cut my curds, but I think it works out better in the end.

Also, once you get your top to bottom curd cuts you have really long square curds.  To cut those, I do diagonal cuts (45 degree) that start at the sides untill I hit the wall on the other end... Then flip and start on the opposite side and cut to the other side... That seems to work for me.  Once I go to the soft stir phase I will cut larger curds that didn't get hit with my 45 degree cuts.

Good luck!

Offline DeejayDebi

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 106
    • Deejays Smoke Pit and DSP Forums
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2009, 01:35:27 AM »
Welcome Jane! Slow and steady with your curds and you'll be okay.

Cheese Head

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2009, 01:48:12 AM »
Hi Jane and welcome to this forum! There is already a Geographic Board > USA > Missouri so you are not the first!

I use a long thin bread knife to cut my curds and I built an info page on cutting curds to help visualize this step.

Most recipes call for smaller than 1" cut curds, most common is 1 cm / 1/2".

JaneinStLouis