Author Topic: Hello from Tucson, Az  (Read 3798 times)

seanas3

Hello from Tucson, Az
« on: April 03, 2009, 01:31:55 AM »
HI, I am new to cheese making and got the idea for way back in High School, when I realized that cheese didn't just appear on grocery store shelve but actually had to be made. So this is what i have created so far. I have tried mozzarella three times I finally got one to work out. But it was slightly hard and dry. I have made a wheel of pepper jack and a wheel of cheddar. I am trying Cream cheese, but I had to use Calcium Chloride and rennet to get it to set. But we'll see how it solidifies. I have alot of questions but I can't seem to find anyone local that homemakes cheese.
1. Way does Whey have to be used within 3 hours
2. Can you vacuum seal seal the cheese instead of waxing
3. How long can you keep cheese on the counter?  It seems strange that I just let it sit out for a period of time before it gets stored. I guess this makes sense because they didn't have refrigerators 200 years ago.
4. Finally I would like to try and make haloumi, when it is curing in the brine solution doe sit matter what temperature it is stored at.
I look forward to more cheese making and I will post my efforts ads I make more cheese. I am going to try mozzarella again this weekend.

wharris

Re: Hello from Tucson, Az
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2009, 02:17:16 AM »
Welcome to the forum seanas3.

It is funny, i have obliviots i call friends who really think food just kinda appears,  perhaps as the store itself.  So I know what you mean.
In terms of your questions:
1. I throw my whey out, so i cannot comment.
2. There is a lot of discussion about that in this forum. I would encourage a search.  I have used vacuum seals and while it seals the cheese, it prevents a rind from forming and pulls whey out of the cells and wrinkles my cheese. I do not use it anymore.  YMMV