Author Topic: Greetings from Waterford Virginia, USA  (Read 1074 times)

rwthompson1982

Greetings from Waterford Virginia, USA
« on: December 12, 2014, 08:37:55 PM »
Hello All, thank you for having me and I am looking forward to a lot of time sharing my cheesemaking with you all.

I live in Waterford, Va., which is an 18th century village in the suburbs of the Washington DC metro area. I am an engineer with a space-oriented company in the area, and enjoy cooking and cheese making because it is a technical and hands-on hobby. When I'm not doing that I'm working on fixing up my 1918 house and raising my son and daughter with my wife.

We are members of a whole-diet CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) that provides us meat, grains, vegetables, fruits, and of course, dairy. We get about 3 gallons of whole, unpasteurized, and unhomogenized milk a week, about half of which we use for yogurt and cheese making. Since we aren't always able to make cheese every week, we do freeze some of our milk until we are able to make our next cheese.

We are currently using a borrowed dutch style press to make Goudas - I will make Gouda # 4 this weekend and hope to post about it. Looking forward to talking with you all!

-Bob

qdog1955

Re: Greetings from Waterford Virginia, USA
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2014, 09:50:50 AM »
Welcome to the forum----your fortunate to get the raw milk, it seems to make a better cheese. Out of curiosity is CSA what we used to call a food co-op?
Qdog

Offline ArnaudForestier

• Old Cheese
  • Cheeses: 45
  • Default personal text
    • Paul's FB
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2014, 11:34:17 AM »
Qdog, a CSA is usually set up as a kind of subscription service, at least in my experience.  You buy into membership at a fixed rate, and get a proportional allotment of whatever the farm provides on a regular basis.  We belong to a spinach CSA, for example, and every other week we pick up the best spinach we've ever had.  Bob's CSA sounds outta site!